Search Site

FFL Services

While our firearms prices are very competitive locally there are some strictly online retailers that purchase in such high volumes that they might be able to offer a ' too good to be true price ', a hard to find firearm or surplus gun that we may not have access to. In those cases, the old adage holds true: ' in you can't beat them, join them '. However, with other items you may want to verify this by comparing your total cost with shipping transfer fees and Colorado's 2% internet tax (you are responsible for make sure this is paid) vs purchasing locally and 4.75% sales tax. You may find that buying online may not be that huge saving vs supporting your local police, firefighters and community.

If for any reason you are unable to find the firearm you are looking for on Shooterready.us  or you need a private party FFL transfer we offer residents of Colorado FFL transfers services.

Individual’s Requirement for FFL Transfers or Purchasing a Firearm

  • Must be a Resident of Colorado
  • Or Must have military orders stationing you in Colorado
  • Must have valid Government issued ID ie: Driver’s license, CO ID or Passport (CCW Permit does not qualify)
  • Proof of Colorado Residency. This can be the current address on a Colorado Driver’s License or CO ID, Colorado CCW Permit, Current Colorado motor vehicle registration, In state resident Colorado hunting or fishing license.
  • Must be of legal age to possess a firearm (18 Shotgun or Rifle, 21 for Handguns and Lower Receivers)
  • Must fill out a form 4473 and pass a CBI background check. The form will be filled out and background submitted only at the time of pickup. It cannot be done prior to arrival.
  • $15 CBI background check fee

Colorado Private Party FFL Transfers

Shooter Ready is here to help facilitate the lawful Person to Person FFL firearms transfers for Colorado residents to comply with the current state law HB13-1229 enacted July of 2013. 

For us to perform the FFL transfer you must agree that we are not part of your transaction, we are strictly for here for the transfer process only. We are not contracted to give you opinions or advice on your sale or purchase.

Seller: you must be present with the firearm to be transferred and have a valid id. If you would like us to sell your firearm for you we offer a consignment service.

  • Seller you will have $10 fee for us to accept your transfer


Purchaser: I do not have a gunsmith on premise to check out your firearm however we can arrange this service. You must also qualify under Federal and State guide lines to complete your transfer.

  • Must be a Resident of Colorado
  • Or Must have military orders stationing you in Colorado
  • Must have valid Government issued ID ie: Drivers license, CO ID or Passport (CCW Permit does not qualify)
  • Proof of Colorado Residency. This can be the current address on a Colorado Drivers License or CO ID, Colorado CCW Permit, Current Colorado motor vehicle registration, Colorado Hunting or fishing license.
  • Must be of legal age to possess a firearm (18 shotgun or rifle, 21 for Handguns)
  • Must fill out a form 4473 and pass a CBI background check. The form and background check will be filled and submitted only at the time of pick up
  • $15 CBI background check fee
  • $10 Transfer Fee

FFL Transfers from Online Dealers

If you are unable to choose us from the drop down list of your online dealer please send your request to shooter@shooterready.us and include the following:

  • If they sent you a confirmation e-mail just forward it along with their contact info E-mail address (preferred) or fax number of the FFL that is shipping the firearm
  • If you did not receive a confirmation e-mail include the name on the order ,order number & what you have ordered for reference.
  • Gunbroker auctions please forward the “you have won” email to Shooter@ShooterReady.us. It will contain all the information needed for all involved parties.

FFL Transfer Requirements from the shipping licensee

Please included the following with your FFL transfer shipment.

  • Copy of your FFL
  • Customer's full contact information (Name and Phone Number)
  • Please copy us on e-mail shipping information so we know when to expect it.

FFL Transfer Requirements for Private Party Transfer outside of Colorado

Please check all Federal and local shipping laws in addition to the carriers rules before shipping a firearm. You may find it easier to contact a local FFL to ship this for you.

  • Copy of your (the sellers) valid State Driver's license
  • Customer's full contact information (Name and Phone Number)
  • A private individual is not entitled to a copy of the FFL that is for dealers only. To verify FFL please visit https://fflezcheck.atf.gov/fflezcheck/ and enter 5-84-04263

FFL Transfer Fees

  • In state private party sale person to person transfer $10 for the buyer, $10 for the seller Per Firearm

  • Online purchases $29 First Firearm
  • $20 for additional Firearms shipped and received on the same invoice
  • If you are impatient and can't for us to do all the required paperwork to check in the firearm and contact you when it is ready, your fee will be doubled.
  • $15 CBI background check for all transfers

FFL to FFL Shipping Services

  • Actual shipping cost (FedEx, UPS or USPS)
  • Don't fully pack your shipment but please bring boxes and packing material as I may not have extra.
  • $20 Transfer fee

Colorado Hi-Cap Magazine Law

As of July 1,2013 It is illegal to Sell or Transfer any magazine that is over the capacity over 15 rounds. It is Illegal to Possses any magazine over 15 rounds in which you did not obtain prior to July 1, 2013. If your shipment includes any magazines over 15 rounds by law we will not be able to transfer the magazines. Please verify with the shipper that they include the proper magazines with your purchase to follow Colorado Law.

Colorado NFA Class III FFL Transfers

We accept NFA Class III Transfers. Cost is $75 and includes utilizing Silencer Shop Sid for your form 4  
Please contact us for these services.